10.11 Map interpretations

An interpretation is a description of a map at a given period. This information is visible in the Dashboard app . Click Interpretations in the top right of the workspace to open the interpretations panel. The button is only clickable if the map is saved.

10.11.1 View interpretations based on relative periods

To view interpretations for relative periods, such as a year ago:

  1. Open a favorite with interpretations.

  2. Click Interpretations in the top right of the workspace to open the interpretations panel.

  3. Click an interpretation. Your map displays the data and the date based on when the interpretation was created. To view other interpretations, click them.

10.11.2 Write interpretation for a map

To create an interpretation, you first need to create a map and save it. If you’ve shared your map with other people, the interpretation you write is visible to those people.

  1. Open a favorite with interpretations.

  2. Click Interpretations in the top right of the workspace to open the interpretations panel.

  3. Click + to write a new interpretations.

  4. In the text field, type a comment, question or interpretation. You can also mention other users with ‘ @username ’. Start by typing ‘@’ plus the first letters of the username or real name and a mentioning bar will display the available users. Mentioned users will receive an internal DHIS2 message with the interpretation or comment. You can see the interpretation in the Dashboard app .

  5. Click SAVE if you want your interpretation to have the same sharing settings as the map.

    Click SAVE & SHARE if you want to change the sharing settings (see below) for your interpretation.

10.11.3 Change sharing settings for an interpretation

  1. Click an interpretation (see how to view an interpretation above).

  2. Click Share below the interpretation. The sharing settings dialog opens.

  3. Search for and add a users and user groups that you want to share your map with.

  4. Change sharing settings for the users you want to modify:

    • Can edit and view : Everyone can view and edit the object.

    • Can view only : Everyone can view the object.

    • No access : The public won’t have access to the object. This setting is only applicable to Public access.

  5. Click CLOSE when sharing settings are updated.