12.9 Manage map favorites

Saving your maps as favorites makes it easy to restore them later. It also gives you the opportunity to share them with other users as an interpretation or put it on the dashboard. You can save all types of layer configurations as a favorite.

12.9.1 Open a favorite

  1. Select Open from the Favorites menu.

    The Favorites dialog box opens.

  2. Find the favorite you want to open. You can either use < and > or the search field to find a saved favorite. The list is filtered on every character that you enter.

  3. Click the name to open that favorite.

12.9.2 Save a map as a new favorite

When you have created a map it is convenient to save it as a favorite:

  1. Select Save as from the Favorites menu.

    The Save as new favorite dialog box opens.

  2. In the text field, type the name you want to give your map favorite.

  3. Click SAVE .

    Your favorite is added to the list.

12.9.3 Overwrite the current favorite

Select Save from the Favorites menu.

12.9.4 Rename a favorite

  1. Select Open from the Favorites menu.

    The Favorites dialog box opens.

  2. Find the favorite you want to rename.

    You can either use < and > or the search field to find a saved favorite.

  3. Click the more options icon (three dots) at the right of the favorite row, and select Rename .

    The Rename favorite dialog box opens.

  4. Edit the name and/or description.

  5. Click SAVE .

    The favorite is updated.

12.9.5 Delete a favorite

  1. Select Open from the Favorites menu.

    The Favorites dialog box opens.

  2. Find the favorite you want to delete.

    You can either use < and > or the search field to find a saved favorite.

  3. Click the more options icon (three dots) at the right of the favorite row, and select Delete .

    A confirmation dialog is displayed.

  4. Click DELETE to confirm that you want to delete the favorite.

12.9.6 Modify sharing settings for a favorite

After you have created a map and saved it as a favorite, you can share the favorite with everyone or a user group. To modify the sharing settings:

  1. Select Open from the Favorites menu.

    The Favorites dialog box opens.

  2. Find the favorite you want to share.

    You can either use < and > or the search field to find a saved favorite.

  3. Click the more options icon (three dots) at the right of the favorite row, and select Share .

    The Sharing settings dialog box opens.

  4. In the text box, search for the name of the user or group you want to share your favorite with and select it.

    The chosen user or group is added to the list of recipients.

    Repeat the step to add more user groups.

  5. If you want to allow external access, select the corresponding box.

  6. For each user group, choose an access setting. The options are:

    • None (for default groups only, as they cannot be removed)

    • Can view

    • Can edit and view

  7. Click CLOSE to close the dialog.

12.9.7 Share a map interpretation

For certain analysis-related resources in DHIS2, you can share a data interpretation. An interpretation is a link to the relevant resource together with a text expressing some insight about the data.

To create an interpretation of a map and share it with all users of the system:

  1. Select Write interpretation from the Favorites menu.

    The Write interpretation dialog box opens.

  2. In the text field, type a comment, question or interpretation.

  3. Click SAVE .

    The dialog box closes automatically. You can see the interpretation on the Dashboard .