DHIS2 supports a concept for user management referred to as managed users which allows to explicitly define which users should be allowed to manage or modify which users. To “manage a user” implies that you can see and modify that user. The basic concept for user management is that you can see and modify users which you have been granted all of the authorities; in other words you can modify users which have a subset of your own authorities. The managed users concept gives you greater control over this.
The managed users concept allows you to define which users should be able to manage which users. This is configured through user groups and memberships within such groups. A user group can be configured to be allowed to manage other user groups from the standard add and update user interface. The effect is that a specific user can manage all users which are members of user groups which can be managed by a user group that the user is member of. In other words, users can be managed by all members of user groups which are managing user groups they are member of.
To enable this concept you should grant users the authority to “Add/update users within managed groups”, and not grant access to the standard “Add/update users” authority. An implication of the managed users concept is that when creating a user with the “Add/update users within managed groups” only, the user must be made a member of at least one user group that the current user can manage. If not, the current user would lose access to the user being created immediately. This is validated by the system.
When granted the “Add/update users within managed groups” authority, the system lets a user add members to user groups for which she has read-only access to. The purpose of this is to allow for decentralized user management. You may define a range of user groups where other users may add or remove members, but not remove or change the name of the group.