5.2. Sharing and access control

The objects which support sharing are indicator, indicator group, indicator group set, data dictionary, data set, program, standard report, resource, report table, chart, map and user group. Out of those objects, report table, chart, map and user group are open for everyone to create privately. Private means that the objects are available only to yourself or potentially to a number of user groups if you choose to share the object. These objects are referred to as "open" objects and can be created by all users. The remaining objects require that your user account has the authority to create them. These objects are referred to as "non-open" objects.

A user can be granted the authority to create publicly accessible objects or privately accessible objects. In order to create a publicly accessible object (available for viewing or editing by anyone) your user account must have the authority to do so. As an example, to create a publicly accessible chart, your user must have the "Create public chart" authority granted. The authority to create private objects applies only to non-open objects. For example, to allow a user to create indicators which will only be accessible to that user and not to everyone, the user can be issued with the "Create private indicator" authority.

Sharing a non-open object with another person and let her edit the object requires that the person's user account has the authority for updating that type of objects granted. For instance, if you want to let another person edit your indicator, that person's user account must have the "Update indicator" authority granted. This does not apply for open objects.

When you create a new object it will automatically become viewable for everyone if your user account has the authority to create public objects. As an example, if you create a standard report and you have the "Create public standard report" authority granted, the report will become viewable for everyone. If you do not have that authority granted the report will be viewable only to yourself. After you have created an object, you may navigate to the "Sharing settings" dialog and set your desired access control level.

If you need a user account which is able to view absolutely all objects you can create a user role with the "ALL" authority and assign a user to that role. If you need to switch between a "complete" view of objects and a "personal" view of objects it is recommended to create two user accounts, one assigned with the "ALL" authority and one without.